Sound

So, I’ve noticed that Dominance has no sound. I’m not going to get into my opinions on sound and just how important it is in making immersive games, at least not just yet.

But I’m going to look into getting some basic sounds into Dominance for the next Alpha or the one after that. Hopefully, it won’t be too difficult although I think I compiled my SFML libraries wrong or something because it has a dependency on libraries it shouldn’t need for default, basic operation of sound. Working on that, so it might not make it into Alpha 2. Maybe the third though, as Alpha 2 has some new clothes to show off and I will hopefully have a temporary GUI in for changing your clothing. I also made some non-Dominance themed articles of clothing for a friend that are cool. No specific reason except that one definitely helped me to get better at spatial visualization of my pixel art. Will be seen soon.

I also enabled VSync to stop the game from running at massive framerates. Hopefully that’ll do the trick for the beast machines out there 😉 If it doesn’t do it’s job properly, then hopefully I can implement a manual framerate cap instead.

I also played around with making button in my class assignment (It’s out of the way and done. Yes!) and got ultra frustrated because I couldn’t get SFML to convert screen coordinates to window relative ones. I’ll be figuring that out eventually so that I can make some GUIs for stuff later, as well as a graphical level editor once I get XMLs saving and loading proper levels.

This is all gonna take a little while between school work and a bunch of other real life stuff, though so bear with me.

2 thoughts on “Sound

  1. Janek says:

    How can I subscribe you? 😦

    • Shayne B. says:

      I think there is some way that WordPress allows one to follow their blogs, but you I’m not sure how to set up a blog mailing list and I need to figure it out 😛
      If you want, you can follow my Twitter and then you would get a notification about blog posts and releases.
      I also have Deviant Art and Fur Affinity profiles that you could watch too.

Leave a Reply

