Bootcamp Delayed, Back to Work

Well, I went to ship out on Monday. Was real excited, me and my buddies all set to go. Turns out that between my Marine recruiter’s office scale being broken and my having got complacent, I was a pound overweight. I pass the Initial Strength Test (IST) great, but weight matters too.
So, I’m stuck here for a month while I try to lose 20-25 pounds. I want to try for squad leader in bootcamp, so I plan on going for broke here this next month. This means some cool stuff:

1)     I get to work some more! Woohoo! I’m going to spend a good chunk of my free time this month working on Lurk, but not as directly as before. Here’s the low down, kiddies.
Now, I have a great mind for design and ideas and such. Problem is, I haven’t been programming long enough to be able to execute the games I want to. So, I end up with cool ideas and unfinished projects. I had the idea to fix this by making a number of small games that are finished, rather than one big one that takes years to finish, with nothing else for people to play.
However, this doesn’t mean I won’t be making progress on Lurk. I’ll be using the 2D engine I’ve got started to make these wee little games. Every time I need a new feature, like particles, maybe physics or lighting etc etc, I’ll just make a very small game out of said feature. This allows me to produce more games for people to gawk at for 3 seconds, get more experience and confidence in my coding and still make progress towards Lurk.
How’s that sound to everyone? Seem more enjoyable than seeing me get fed up with one big, slow project?

1.5)     More art and music and other stuff too! When I program a bunch and get burned out or stuck on something, I need to get my mind away from the code to recharge. I usually do this by writing music or fiction, making some art or sometimes just playing a game. The art and music and writing is usually about ponies so all you brony haters out there better buckle down. The gameplay is also good. It gives me a chance to continue finding what does and doesn’t work well in some games, or finding things that are awesome or that should be avoided.

2)     I might get to go to EverfreeNW. This is the first annual MLP convention here in the great Pacific Northwest and a few pals and I might get a chance to camp out there and attend! My favorite voice actress from the show, Tabitha St. Germain, will be there and it’d be awesome to meet her. Hopefully, a few of the game devs in the brony community might be there too. It’d be pretty freakin’ sweet to meet them and chat about nerdy stuff, despite my noobtasticness in game dev. If I get to go, you’ll all be hearing earfulls about it when I get back.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Bootcamp Delayed, Back to Work

  1. Morgan Butler says:

    This is good blogging Shayne. No wonder I saw you the other day. Let me know it you want to hang out sometime.

  2. Ed says:

    St. Germain is Rarity, right?

    • Shayne B. says:

      Correct. She also voices Luna, Nightmare Moon, Granny Smith, Photo Finish, Mrs. Cake, Pound Cake and some extras. It’s a bit odd. If you go to the Wikipedia page on her, you see that she voiced a couple of cartoon characters from when I was a kid, like Nazz in the first season of Ed, Edd, and Eddy.
      She also did some voice acting in Death Note, some Gundams, Dragonball Z and a good number of other anime.

Leave a Reply

