Blender Game Demo

Alright folks, got a playable demo of the most bare bones 3D platformer y’all have ever seen.
This is probably only going to run under Linux. I’ll be looking into someone to help me make Blender builds for Mac and Windows as well.
LINKEH
The controls are as follows:
WASD to move
Space to Jump
Shift to crouch, which makes you jump higher
Right Click to grab ledges
Should you find yourself holding Right Click and magically floating in midair next to a ledge, press Space to climb up.

And that’s it. I’m still debugging some stuff and getting the motion put together how I want. I’ll keep working on this little project for a while, see what I can do with it. I’ve got a couple ideas, but it’s fairly loose right now.

Been chipping away at chapter 3 of Horizon, so expect that within maybe a couple weeks. Not really sure how soon it’ll be done.
And a piece of art for an Autumn Art Exchange over on deviantArt.
And I finally got a Doom .wad editor to run under Linux. Unfortunately, it’s a crash-happy DOS application and is a pain in the ass to use, as well as slow. But, it’s fun for killing time.

And other than all of that, I’m still trying to drop the last bit of weight I need to in order to reenlist in the DEP and leave for the Marines. Hopefully, I’ll be down to weight this week or the next and then will be off to boot in two months.

To close this post up, have some pone.
Taking back the holy land, one adorable river of blood at a time.

Damnit. If you’re here on a trip through legacy, you shoulda seen the original image I had here. Cute as all get out. But this’ll do I guess.

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Blender Game Demo

  1. adwuga says:

    Jumping from a crouch would make you jump slightly lower, if anything. Also, I got my shit thing working much better. It turns out forcefully translating rather than gently adding force makes for some buggy movement.

    Show me some pictures/a video you shit! I don’t have linux, and I’m too lazy/stupid to convert it to windows.

    • Shayne B. says:

      No one bitched about crouch jumping in Lugaru.
      Anyways, I took it out already. I decided the exact same thing you did.
      Yeah, Unity’s physics like that a lot better.
      I’ll do a video next time, or something.

  2. Fun Games says:

    You really make it seem so easy with your presentation
    but I find this topic to be really something that I think I would never understand.
    It seems too complicated and very broad for me. I am looking forward
    for your next post, I will try to get the hang of it!

    • Shayne B. says:

      This was marked as spam, so this is showing how desparate I am for visitors here XD

      If this isn’t spam, then thanks. Is there something you’d like to see explained in greater depth in later posts?
      If this is spam, thanks for being a polite spam bot 😀

Leave a Reply

